The General Secretariat

As the executive body of the Board of Governors, the General Secretariat is responsible for overseeing and managing the FGYO. It is made up of two General Secretaries, one from France and one from Germany, who are appointed in agreement by both governments. The duration of a term is six years each, can be renewed once, and begins time-displaced by three years. Since January 2020, the FGYO has been headed by Tobias Bütow and Anne Tallineau.

Preview Secrétariat général OFAJ

Find out more about the FGYO's bodies

Anne Tallineau

Anne Tallineau has been appointed as the French Secretary General of the Franco-German Youth Office on January 1st, 2020.

Tobias Bütow

Tobias Bütow, born 1978 in Magdeburg, has been appointed as the German Secretary General of the Franco-German Youth Office on March 1st, 2019.

The Board of Governors

The photo was taken during the 19th session of the Board of Governors on December 18th, 2023.

The Steering Committee

The Board of Governors is assisted by the Steering Committee that is made up of 24 members that offer suggestions regarding the FGYO’s goals and...

The patronage of the FGYO

To mark the 60th anniversary of the Élysée Treaty and the Treaty of Aachen, the German Federal President and the French President are assuming the...